Neighborhood Legal Services Program celebrated with our friends and supporters at our
annual Jazz for Justice event.

The Leader of Justice Award recognizes an outstanding individual who has served the civil and social justice communities as a leader, volunteer, and innovator and must also have a track record of providing support and resources to those in the community suffering discrimination and injustice.


Jeffrey Harleston

General Counsel and Executive Vice President of Business & Legal Affairs, Universal Music Group

Jeff serves as General Counsel and Executive Vice President of Business & Legal Affairs for Santa Monica, California-based Universal Music Group (UMG). As a member of UMG’s executive management board, Jeff is responsible for overseeing all business transactions, contracts, and litigation for UMG’s operations worldwide. In addition, he is also responsible for the company’s government relations, trade and anti-piracy activities.

While an associate at Covington and Burling, Jeff was a Rotating Associate at NLSP for six months and found his experience at NLSP professionally and personally valuable.



    The 2022 Leader of Justice Award was presented by Karl Racine, Attorney General of the District of Columbia.



*as of November 8, 2022 

Blake Biles
Arnold & Porter

Allison Binney
Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld

Rod Boddie
Congressional Federal Credit Union

 Jay Cooper
Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Christopher M. Cutler
Foley & Lardner, LLP

Michael D. Daneker
Arnold & Porter

Lyzka DeLaCruz 
Bakker DeLaCruz, LLC

Shankar Duraiswamy

US Dept. of Labor

Peter B. Edelman

Georgetown University

Roger A. Fairfax, Jr. 
American University
Washington College of Law

Phylicia Fant
Amazon Music

Anne Ford
Community Volunteer/
NLSP Board Member

Douglas G. Gibson

Covington & Burling

 Megan Glasheen
Reno & Cavanaugh

Karen M. Hardwick
Washington Gas

Susan M. Hoffman

Crowell & Moring

Eric Humes 

Community Volunteer/NLSP Board Member

 Philip T. Inglima
Crowell & Moring

Twinette L. Johnson
UDC David A. Clarke
School of Law

Harmony Jones
Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Kristin Graham Koehler


Curtis Lu
FTI Consulting

Harvey Mason
Recording Academy

Dayna Bowen Matthew
George Washington University Law School

Patrick McGlone

 Amy Ralph Mudge

Wilson D. Mudge
Arnold & Porter

Amy L. Neuhardt
Boies Schiller Flexner

William J. Perlstein

FTI Consulting

Jeannie Rhee

Paul Weiss

Paul Robinson
Warner Music Group

James J. Sandman

University of Pennsylvania

Annamaria Steward
The National Black Lawyers
Top 100


Julie Swidler

Sony Music Entertainment

William M. Treanor
Georgetown University Law Center

April N. Williams



Cheryl Ziegler
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation







A Special Thanks to our Generous Sponsors & Supporters (as of November 8, 2022)  





Morrison & Foerster Foundation












Amy Ralph Mudge & Wilson D. Mudge




Beveridge & Diamond PC
Blake Biles & Laura Sessums
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton
Crowell & Moring
Michael Daneker

The Daschle Group
Shankar Duraiswamy & Indira Sarma

Faegre Drinker

Foley & Lardner LLP
Megan Glasheen
Johnny Howard
Loeb & Loeb LLP

Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Perkins Coie LLP
William J. Perlstein
Pryor Cashman LLP

Recording Academy
The Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
Reed Smith LLP
Stinson LLP
Troutman Pepper
Washington Gas
Cheryl L. Ziegler



Bakker DeLaCruz LLC
Allison Binney
Caplin & Drysdale
Karen A. Newton Cole & Gregory J. Cole
Cowan Liebowitz & Latman PC
Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz PC
Klein Hornig LLP
The Levinson Group (TLG)
National Legal Aid & Defender Association

National Legal Aid & Defender Association Insurance Program
Amy Neuhardt & Bruce Fein

Oppenheim + Zebrak, LLP
Reno & Cavanaugh PLLC

James J. Sandman
David Simmons
The Steptoe Foundation
Julie Swidler
UDC School of Law Foundation



Lincoln Bisbee
Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC
Peter B. Edelman
Peter Greenberger
Philip Inglima & Elizabeth Wieser
Dr. Jimmie Jackson
Robert and Rochelle Light

Curtis Lu
Patrick McGlone

Brandon Myers
Sara Rearden
Lee Reno
Saleema Snow
April N. Williams
Tyra Williams Matthews & Earl Matthews

To view the 2022 virtual Jazz for Justice program book,
click here. 

Your sponsorship furthers community engagement and the elimination of barriers to securing justice for all DC residents. To learn more about sponsorship opportunities and purchasing tickets to the 2023 event, email To see highlights from the 2021 Jazz for Justice event, click here.