Neighborhood Legal Services Program is excited to celebrate with our friends and supporters at our annual Jazz for Justice event.

Doors Open at 6:45 p.m.

The Leader of Justice Award recognizes an outstanding individual who has served the civil and social justice communities as a leader, volunteer, and innovator and must also have a track record of providing support and resources to those in the community suffering discrimination and injustice.

Scroll down to read about the Honoree and view the esteemed members of the Host Committee. Otherwise, choose from these options:



Dorothy Capers

Senior Vice President & General Counsel, Xylem

Dorothy G. Capers is Senior Vice President and General Counsel of Xylem, Inc. Xylem is a leading global water technology company with 2022 revenues of $7B and approximately 22,000 colleagues worldwide. XYL designs, manufactures and services highly engineered products and solutions across a wide variety of critical applications in the water and energy sector. Dorothy oversees a diverse legal team across the globe that supports the Company in areas of corporate governance, finance, regulatory compliance, mergers & acquisitions, employment, labor, litigation and corporate contracts. Dorothy is a member of the Senior Executive Team reporting to the Chief Executive Officer.

Prior to joining Xylem, Dorothy was Executive Vice President and Global General Counsel of National Express, Inc. National Express is a publicly traded transportation company on the London stock exchange as a FTSE 250 company with subsidiaries in the United Kingdom, Spain, Bahrain, Morocco, Germany and North America. There she led a multinational team managing all aspects of the Legal and Compliance initiatives. Previous roles include Chief Litigation Counsel for US Foods, Inc. and extensive work as a litigator in the state, county and local government as well as in the private sector for law firms and corporations. Her government experience includes her leadership as a Deputy Corporation Counsel with the City of Chicago and as a prosecutor for the Cook County State's Attorney's office. Dorothy's first in house role was as Senior Counsel with Metra Railroad, a regional transportation authority.

Dorothy has lectured on legal topics related primarily to internal investigations, attorney client privilege, immigration law, development of convergence and alternative fee proposals and best practices for developing in-house litigation strategies. Dorothy has also written articles on various topics, most notably an article published in the International In-House Counsel Journal entitled The Trump Administration's New Era of Enforcement Policies and the Impact on U.S. Multinational Companies. Dorothy has been actively involved in the community for many years as a mentor and board member in various civic, nonprofit and cultural organizations. Dorothy currently sits as a member of the board of the Illinois Equal Justice Foundation and the Chicago State University Foundation. She serves as a mentor for the Chicago Urban League Impact Program.

Dorothy earned her J.D. from Howard University School of Law, Washington DC and her B.A from the University of Illinois, Champaign, IL.

The 2023 Leader of Justice Award will be presented by A. Scott Bolden, Partner with Reed Smith. 

*as of October 16, 2023

NLSP thanks this year’s Host Committee! 
The Host Committee is a group of leaders from various organizations in the legal field who are dedicated to making the Jazz for Justice event successful and furthering the mission of NLSP.

Blake Biles
Arnold & Porter

Allison C. Binney
Allison Binney Law/PACE Government Relations

Rod Boddie
Congressional Federal Credit Union

Chris Cutler

Foley & Lardner LLP

Michael D. Daneker
Arnold & Porter

Lyzka DeLaCruz 
Bakker DeLaCruz, LLC

Shankar Duraiswamy
US Dept. of Labor

Peter B. Edelman
Georgetown University

Brian Ellis


Roger A. Fairfax, Jr. 
American University
Washington College of Law

Anne Ford
Community Volunteer/
NLSP Board Member

Douglas G. Gibson

Covington & Burling

Megan Glasheen

Reno & Cavanaugh

Karen Goldmeier Green
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Karen M. Hardwick
Washington Gas


Jeffrey Harleston
Universal Music Group

Astor Heaven
Crowell & Moring

Susan M. Hoffman

Crowell & Moring

Renee McDonald Hutchins
University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law

 Philip T. Inglima
Crowell & Moring

 Ellen M. Jakovic
Kirkland & Ellis

Twinette L. Johnson
UDC David A. Clarke
School of Law 

Harmony Jones
Steptoe & Johnson LLP 

Kristin Graham Koehler
Sidley Austin LLP

Charles R. Lowery Jr.
National Housing Conference 

 Curtis Lu
FTI Consulting

Earl Matthews 
Albers Aerospace

Tyra Williams Matthews
US Dept of Homeland Security

Patrick McGlone

Amy Ralph Mudge

Wilson D. Mudge
Arnold & Porter LLP 

Amy L. Neuhardt
Boies Schiller & Flexner LLP

William J. Perlstein

FTI Consulting   

 James J. Sandman

University of Pennsylvania

Richard S. Snyder 
Mayer Brown 

William M. Treanor
Georgetown Law  

Wendy Webb Williams

April Williams

Rana J. Wright

Harris Associates

Cheryl L. Ziegler
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

 For more information, please email  Read about the 2022 Jazz for Justice event here.